D-Day by Jack B

As the boat was rocking side to side I was scared, so scared for the ramp to come down. Unsurprisingly I had butterflies.

The constant bombing was defeaning. I had a shiver down my spine as I smelt the vomit all around me. My hand constantly shook as I took a drink out of my bottle. I started to lower my head as we got closer to the shore.

The Germans started to shoot.

In my head I was worried that I wouldn’t make it home. After this my fingers started to shiver even more as the captain bellowed, ‘We have 30 seconds till the ramp drops.’

In my head I was counting down… it was time

The ramp was lowered and I got into the water and ran. Blood was everywhere! I thought is it my blood…

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *