D-Day by Lily

I can remember it like it was yesterday, it was the saddest thing in my life.

I was worried, scared and anxious all at once. I didn’t want to do it.

I could smell the reeking sick all around the boat.

I could see lots of Higgins boats from the left and right of me.

My throat was as dry as a rock that had been in the sun for hours.

I was so tired; you didn’t get much sleep in war, as you had to constantly be alarmed, otherwise who knows what could happen.

I was shivering, shivering because the sea kept crashing onto the boat and getting into every corner of it.

I could hear the captain shouting at me telling me to get ready for the attack.

My heart was in my stomach!

The whistle blew with a piercing screech.

I quickly grabbed my trusty rifle  and made a run for it.

The water was up to my waist, I was in pain ,my arm was aching, I couldn’t keep hold of my gun  , my comrades kept encouraging me to go , but the Germans had seen us !

The deafening sound of the gun fire pierced my ears, but I knew I had to keep going, even if I died I would have done it for Britain.

I had made it to the beach when all of a sudden I had been hit by a bullet in my arm , I screeched in pain as I fell to the floor, for  the last thing I had seen was a German’s  face .

I was lucky enough for my friend to turn round and help me back up again, for he knew I would do the same.

I had reached the rocks and I was safe for now…

By Lily Torode

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *