D-DAY

My head spun as I heard a German bomb drop near our boat, which sent shock waves through the cement like water and rocked our boat like a rocking horse. The stench of tobacco and gun powder filled my nostrils. The water filled my sodden boots. I made a grab for my rifle, which I had leaned up against the side of the iron boat. It was hard to hold as my hand had seized up with fear and anxiety.

I was scared; very scared. I had trained for this and yet I didn’t have the faintest idea what it would look like. Adrenalin rushed through my veins. Goosebumps were on every inch of my body. A shiver ran down my spine as a shrill whistle blew. Some were in the distance and ou last piece of protection was shred.

The happy times flashed before my eyes. Everything I knew was about to change. 120000 men charged of their boats ready to give their life for their country. My ears stopped working; my eyes were blurred and then black… I had fallen asleep and was never to wake up again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *